Knowledgebase
Knowledgebase: PaperCut > User Client Tool
What are all these .uc files in my temp or home directory?
Last modified on 14 August 2020 10:01 PM

To prevent multiple instances of the PaperCut user client running at the same time we make use of a lock file. This lock file will be generated at client startup and removed at client shutdown. They will be created in your home or temporary directory and have the name of “.uc-“. See the screenshot below for examples.

If the client is shutdown abnormally (power outage, system crash, hardware failure etc) these files may be left in place. They are safe to delete in single user environments. When on multi-user machines such as Microsoft Terminal Servers or Citrix servers it is best to confirm that the lock file is not in use by another user before removing it.