Hiding the Balance Window of the User Client Tool
Last modified on 14 August 2020 09:21 PM
The PaperCut user client tool will, by default, pop up a dialog with the user’s balance when it starts.
The exception to this case is when the user cannot charge to their personal account. For example, if the user’s
The user client tool can be configured to “start minimized”. That is, the balance window will not be displayed when the client tool starts, but the user can still bring it up by clicking on the icon in the system tray/dock.
To configure a client tool to start minimized, use the
Some examples of how to use the option include:
To ensure that the balance window will never be displayed for any user, perform the following:
Next time a user client tool is started, the balance window will not be shown (regardless of the
Note: make sure that you do not set disabletasktrayicon=Y in the client’s config.properties file, for this to work. The PaperCut client will show ‘something’ when it’s running - so that there is a visual cue of some kind that the client is running. If you disable the tray icon and disable the balance window as above, then you’ll find that the balance window appears minimized, but shows dashes instead of the actual balance. The most ‘invisible’ option is to allow the tray icon, and then completely hide the balance window using the above.
Note: on some platforms (for technical reasons) the balance window will still be present but it will not contain the balance text. As of version 14.2 (Build 27858), the Mac client is now able to be hidden, as the Mac User Client icon now resides in the menu bar as a “menulet” and no longer lives in the Dock.