Deleting users from PaperCut
Last modified on 29 September 2017 06:00 PM
As of version 17.3 of PaperCut NG and PaperCut MF, a list of the user accounts which will be deleted can be previewed by selecting the
Please note that deleting a user in PaperCut will not remove the user’s historical printing data - you can still report on the printing that the user performed, using the Reports tab to view historical information. There is more information about deleting users and how this might affect Reporting on the Reports Data FAQ page.
It is common in an academic environment to have to delete user accounts en masse at the end the academic year. The recommended procedure is:
1. Delete the inactive user accounts from your domain and/or server. Large organizations will often automate this process via scripts and lists of student enrollments.
2. During a period of low system activity, perform a backup of the system. With PaperCut NG and PaperCut MF, this can be performed via the
3. Navigate to
4. When the
5. Take some time now to confirm that all is as expected.
Note: Deleting a user will not delete the user’s print history data. All historical log data will remain.
How do I delete users automatically overnight?
The delete users option is not “remembered” and hence will not occur when the sync occurs overnight. The only way to delete users is to do so manually via the
If automatically deleting old users overnight is important, then it is possible to do this via the server-command API. For example, a batch file could be periodically executed via the Windows Task Scheduler, with content like the following:
cd C:\Program Files\PaperCut NG\server\bin\win server-command.exe perform-user-and-group-sync-advanced TRUE TRUE
We recommend running this command during a period of low system activity such as 4:00am.